Empty Sky

image

“It was the empty sky that first set me on edge.

“Hundreds of birds huddled in overcrowded trees, despite the late hour and the crisp morning air. I was sufficiently unsettled to restock the bunker and still inside when the radiation sensors sealed the door. But I ramble.

“If there’s anyone still alive out there, I’m in a bunker on Mount Dandenong. I’m transmitting on UHF and will scan all frequencies for as long as I’m able.

“I’m at coordinates 37.8311° S, 145.3600° E, with food and water. Is there anyone out there?

“I don’t want to die all alone.”

Ryan Stone

5 thoughts on “Empty Sky

Leave a Reply

