I’ll not tread lightly

remember school days and how we would play
like there was no tomorrow?
now the castles we made
are the price we must pay
or flounder in oceans of sorrow

roaming wild and free, raising houses in trees
as worlds waltzed to discordant tunes
like a zephyr through grass,
gilded summer days passed;
left us flayed under Cheshire moons

wooden sword fights and valiant knights;
pirates, the Pan and his Bell,
faded from dreams,
rowed ungentle streams,
to where the real monsters dwell

I’ve climbed faraway trees, seen fair Honah-Lee,
never never thought I’d grow old
now the pied piper calls,
before the last curtain falls,
leafless, I’ll trip into the wold.

Ryan Stone

First published by Wolf Publishing June, 2015

image

30 thoughts on “I’ll not tread lightly

  1. Love the images you’ve created with your words; excellent descriptions! Also, a little taken aback by your photograph, as it is so similar to the one I chose for my post today. Great minds, I guess… πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohhhh!! this one!! πŸ™‚ It does not have “burn” but it will definitely sound beautiful in your VERY poetic voice (okay, multi-talented voice πŸ˜‰ – I just discovered a chunk of your poems that I have not commented yet! Yay me!
    okay, okay, one thing at a time – this please πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wel.. i am speechless.. your voice really brings a beautiful nuance to this poem, a new dimension definitely. Okay, I have one new favorite word: moon πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

