He Who Fights Monsters

How shall I chart the dark night’s lunar sea
Whose waves define the tides inside my mind,
With ebbs and flows that toss and turn with glee
And linger longer than the chains that bind?

Where atlas, compass, sextant are no aid;
In evil vaults where stars are scared to shine;
Here tears and screams once birthed so quickly fade
As hope drowns lonesome, swallowed down by brine.

I’ve raced before the tempest wind so long
My hull is breached beyond my skill to caulk.
No map for me, I chase a siren song
To straits so dire that all but monsters balk.

On wings of wax and feather I now see:
There is no abyss but the one in me.

Ryan Stone

image

21 thoughts on “He Who Fights Monsters

  1. Ryan, this is impressive in all its ways… Every line is so rich and so well written that it drips art in its perfection! Just to pick up some lines: “Whose waves define the tides inside my mind,” and “I’ve raced before the tempest wind so long”… This has quickly become one of my favourites of yours… Have a magic day!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: He Who Fights Monsters | Typing in the Shadows

  3. Pingback: The Sunday Wrap: June 7, 2015 | The Seeker's Dungeon

  4. Pingback: The Sunday Wrap: June 14, 2015 | The Seeker's Dungeon

  5. A thrilling sonnet. They have a soft spot in my heart and this one is by far one of my favorite structured poems of yours. What makes it unique is the edgy feeling of the abstract with which you blanketed each line.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

