Addictions

I binge a lot.
Some weeks chocolate,
Sweet to fermenting.
Those weeks are good,
Except for the pimples
And a kilo or two
That inevitably hang on
And so, to forget,
I move onto whiskey –

Single malt weeks
Always start well
Before sinking down
To dark ports
Where I forget to forget

Until exercise weeks
Throw out a lifeline
And reel me to shore –
There’s a lot to be said
For green tea and carrots
And water; lots of water

Then, without warning, I wake up
One morning before my alarm clock
With nearly-clear eyes
That get me to thinking
Maybe I’ll call,
Tell you I’m well –

And it’s almost the truth
Until someone answers
With casual nonplus.
In the background your drawl,
From behind a cigarette,
Sounds of twisted sheets
And other things hard to forget.

Ryan Stone

image

14 thoughts on “Addictions

  1. Reading your comments is nearly as entertaining as reading your stuff. This one jabbed me at the end – so sneaky – making me believe that carrots and water and green tea were going to save the day, eh! So sneaky. You got me good vecino!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

