Jeremy

image

Jeremy was new at school; small and shy. I saw him walking home through the deepening snow, staggering under the weight of a bag full of books. I offered help and we shared the load. He didn’t say much but his smile was radiant. It was a moment I quickly forgot, but from it friendship burst. Years later, during his OAM acceptance speech, Jez floored me: “I dedicate this award to my friend. Years ago, I cleaned out my locker and headed home to take my life. A random act of kindness diverted me. Never underestimate the power of friendship.”

Ryan Stone

22 thoughts on “Jeremy

Leave a Reply

