The Watch Seller

The promise of morning and flea market bustle,
rouses tired hands to lay out old friends.

Faces he knows as well as his own
watch with timeless abandon.

He sets each precisely with intimate touch,
soft as forgotten caresses;

gathers their stories, pulling each close
in the bittersweet truth of parting.

Come afternoon, those hands will slow;
kissed cold by the late Autumn air

and a passing whisper in his ear –
somewhere a bell is tolling.

Ryan Stone

Click here for audio

image

45 thoughts on “The Watch Seller

  1. Good day, Ryan. What an incredible post! I am going to take a chance and re-blog it without asking as you’re likely sleeping; but given you were okay with previous re-blogs, I am hopeful it’s okay. This should be shared. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a masterpiece. I absolutely love all the subtleties of father time. It definitely carries a feel of Hemingway in it. Love the way how you make the archetypes find their spot on that face that holds all of us accountable till the last second.
    Loved it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      • Good to hear your not just doing well, but fantastic. πŸ™‚
        Since my newest policy is more transparency, I will say not say, “I’m dong fine”, rather I’ll say, I’ve been better.” I’m dealing with some family stuff that has me worried. But I’m also looking at it as having the potential to have a very positive long term outcome even though the immediate situation is not all that pleasant. How is that for obscure transparency. Haha.
        For now I will sleep. I stayed up really late – 1:33 a.m. here right now – sorting papers and organizing because I have to do it when I’m compelled, or it won’t get done. πŸ™‚ Look forward to reading more of your beautiful words Ryan. Have a great day!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

