Lost Frequencies

image

Next to ambitious colors of his image,
I remain amphibious,
lacking the sane view of reason,
embracing the alchemy of dreaming.

Pale and altered, her beauty,
grey strands of regret weave
through cornflower fields
whose scent I barely remember.

This past winter’s rime lingers in his eyes.
Droplets of subdued laughter
crystaled at the corners,
dipped in icebound summers.

Her worn out air of irresolution
hangs heavy; thunderheads
muster for battle, threatening
to blow me away.

Seeking hands belong to a stranger,
fervent perjuries to the crowkeeper.
Heart and mind adamantine,
enpierced no more by love.

I stand alone in shadow,
watching an Amaranth moon –
beautiful, undying; slipping
beyond my reach.

– a collaboration, written by Dajena and Ryan.

It was such a pleasure to have the opportunity to write this poem with Dajena from Moonskittles. I’m a huge fan of the grace, imagery and passion she incorporates into her writing and hoped some of her magic might rub off onto my own drab words.

I don’t know that my drawn-out writing process is particularly conducive to a collaboration, but Dajena was an absolute joy to write with and I enjoyed the experience greatly. If you haven’t had the opportunity to visit her site, please do so now – you will be blown away.

62 thoughts on “Lost Frequencies

  1. I absolutely love this poem dear Ryan. It was a joy and a thrill of excitement to write together. Thank you for the awesome piece of art you have attached to our poem too! πŸ˜€
    My cheeks are red from all the words you have written here about me, I guess that money I gave you to say all these accolades is paying off ;P
    I will write with you any time Mr. Stone, for you inspire and make everything magical with your touch!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Reblogged this on MOONSKITTLES and commented:
    I had the privilege and the pleasure to write this poem with Ryan Stone! We enjoyed the process of writing together and I was flattered when he picked me.
    I really really appreciate his talent and the way how he makes everything look so beautiful. He is a master story teller and a king of spinning intriguing images in the minds of readers.
    You are such a Fine Poet Ryan!! Thank you! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What do I say Ryan… You guys are both brilliant at this! And this poem is twice as much joy as usual! πŸ˜€
    I was away from blogging for a while because of too much work…But I am happy I came back to witness this πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful day..Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So many gorgeous images… What a treat to read! πŸ™‚ The alchemy of dreaming… The rime of a past winter in his eyes… On top of that, the intertwining of the two perspectives in this poem added so much interest and complexity. Speaks beautifully of gaps in communication and lost loves. Beautiful collaboration, you two πŸ™‚ Really enjoyable addition to my day!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As I was reading this, I thought I heard a different voice in here – now it makes complete sense! I concur with the masses, this was a beautiful collaboration, the two of you play very well together. Such strong feelings invoked with this gorgeous imagery. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ryan and Dajena, congratulations on a beautiful collaboration. Your poetic voices certainly complement each other very well. β€œLost Frequencies” is quite lovely, tinged with much sadness. Wonderful metaphors, creating fantastic visual images, truly a marvelous poem. ~ Mia

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is a wonderful collaboration, Ryan. Your writing approaches might be different, but you certainly understand each other very well, as is evidenced by this seamless write. Love the artwork, too, my friend – you are truly talented!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

