When Planets Collide

Why consider a new page
To be anything other than hope
Poised for flight?
Like a virgin in an olive grove
Waiting for her toes to curl.
I once stared at a puddle so long
A rainbow appeared.
I believe there are many kingdoms
Other than this.
You know what it feels like
To lie on your back
Throwing wishes at stars
And then you see a satellite
Orbiting your world?
Launched before your birth,
It will still beam data
Well past your death
And that’s when it hits you:
Those bright points are mortal,
Fleeting dreams,
Galaxies
A million years dead.

by Ryan Stone

First published on The Houseboat in August, 2015

2015/01/img_1458.jpg

24 thoughts on “When Planets Collide

  1. Someday soon, in the astronomical realm of ‘soon’, Betelgeuse will go supernova and appear as bright as the moon. It may even be visible in daylight. Or has that already happened and we are waiting for the light to arrive?

    I love the way you’re playing with word meanings here, Ryan, and that’s a fabulous photo πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can almost hear the static of the night sky traveling forward in your mind. I will take this image with me, and befriend my pillow. It was pleasant treading gently on your forestry of words.
    Let’s meet again soon. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful. I want to savour what I have read so far, you should never take in too much of a good thing all at once… so I am going to leave my reading here for now. I will be back, I’m so glad I stumbled upon your site. Please forgive my rambling comment, it’s almost 3am and my brain has started shutting down πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re blessed to have a night sky to view and ponder–where I live is too close to all the lights of people, so I’m grateful when I can see the moon. I felt an undertone of sadness in this piece–maybe it’s just me πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

